Anti-Haul #2 – New or Up-Coming Eyeshadow Palettes

I’m not really an eyeshadow palette lover. I have to like at least 90% of the shades in a palette, without getting duplicates of colors, I already own in my collection. So it’s quite unlikely, that I will ever find an eyeshadow palette worth investing in, I’d much rather buy single shadows. Therefore I’m very critical when it comes to palettes, so I just wanted to focuse on a few new or up-coming releases and share my opinion. I’ll also share some alternatives to these products.

Natasha Denona Sunset Palette ($126)

sunset

Another warm neutrals palette? Warm neutral palettes have been on trend for so long, that most people will already own one. Of course people rave about the quality and if you break down the price, you pay $8.60 for 2.5g of each shade, which isn’t an unreasonabke price. However the math only works, if you like and use every shade, which I wouldn’t. Even if I wouldn’t already own shades like this, I wouldn’t be interested in this palette. I rearranged the colors so it’s more obvious how similar they are. You essentially get:

sunset

  1. three very similar shimmery orange shades and another more intense shimmery orange
  2. two matte oranges
  3. two golds (one is more rose gold while the other one is a classic yellow gold)
  4. three matte browns with different undertones
  5. two more unique matte shades, when it comes to eyeshadow palettes: a bright red and a bright yellow
  6. two light matte shades with different undertones

 

Instead you could get:

  1. one or maybe two shimmery oranges from any brand
  2. one matte orange, e.g. Neve Cosmetics Magma or Sugarpill Flamepoint
  3. any gold eyeshadow from any brand
  4. a neutral brown from any brand
  5. a yellow and red single eyeshadow, e.g. Neve Cosmetics Bananas or Sugarpill Buttercupcake and Sugarpill Love+
  6. any light shade from any brand

 


Jaclyn Hill x Morphe Palette ($38)

I’ve mentioned the Morphe 35 Pan Palettes in my first Anti-Haul and this palette has the same flaw as every other Morphe 35 Pan Palette: too many similar/interchangeable color. The first 3 rows are essentially warm orangy neutrals and most of the last two rows are neutral brown shades. In my opinion nobody needs that many shades in the same color family, it just won’t make any difference on the eyes.


Urban Decay Naked Heat ($54)

A #closeup !!!! 👀👀 🔥🔥🔥😍😍😍 The #NAKEDHeat #EyeshadowPalette by @urbandecaycosmetics !!!! 🔥 $54 Will be available ➡️ JUNE 12TH Pre – Sale on their website first for Beauty Junkies Members / official launch JUNE 30TH / Online @Ultabeauty @sephora JULY 10TH in stores JULY 13TH ☀️🍁🍂 The palette includes a mix shades of nudes, reds, plums and different finishes of matte + shimmery Can't wait to see mor swatches What are your thoughts? ✌🏼❤️ XO #TRENDMOOD #urbandecay #urbandecaycosmetics pic: @alatorreee THANK U to our HOT HOT!! 🔥 makeup community for this update!! 😘 . . . #makeupoftheday #motd #makeupoftheday #mua #ilovemakeup #makeup #makeupaddict #makeuplover #makeupblogger #makeuponpoint #onpoint #makeuplook #makeuplove #makeuptalk #makeuptutorial #makeuplover #makeupaddict #makeupaddiction #makeupdolls #onpoint #onfleek

A post shared by TRENDMOOD (@trendmood1) on

Again another warm neutral palette. From all the eyeshadow palettes I’m mentioning, the selection of matte and shimmers in this palette is most appealing to me. In my opinion this is a cohesive palette, you can use the lightest (basically white) shade for highlighting and the two other light shades as transition colors. There are four medium matte shades, that can be used in the crease. You also get a dark matte shade to define the outer v. There are three medium shimmery lid shades and a dark shimmery shade for a smokey eye.
However you’d think with only 12 shades, the chance of having interchangeable colors is generally smaller, than in bigger palettes, but it’s still a problem with this palette. When you look at the matte colors He Devil and Cayenne are way too similar and when it comes to the shimmer shades Lumbre, Dirty Talk and Scorched are also pretty similar.
However I’m also not buying it, because it isn’t really my color sheme. I like bold intense colors, if I want to go for a red/purple theme like this palette offeres, I want the colors to me bright, not muted.


Juvia’s Place Zulu Palette ($17.50)

the_zulu_image_1024x1024

So I talked about, how I’m not a fan of neutral eyeshadows and I prefer bold shades, so you might assume that I would like this palette by Juvia’s Place.
Well, no. First of all, I don’t like palettes, that are a mix of neutrals and bold colors. If I was looking for a bold palette to extend my collection, I seriously don’t need a dark brown and a reddish bronze, you can find that in any other palette. For me this palette would be way more appealing if the reddish bronze was an intense lilac (to complement the dark violet, that is already in the palette) and the dark brown could have been exchanged with a blue or any other bright color.
I feel like the idea behind mixed palettes like this, is to make the palette work on it’s own, without using other eyeshadows. But these two neutrals don’t make the palette more cohesive in my opinion, for example there’s not really a transition shade in this palette, the only colors I could use for a transition are the orange or red (if applied VERY light handedly) and the yellow, so I would need to use another palette anyway. But I’m aware that Juvia’s Place products are designed for deeper complexions, so it might work on those skintones.
I also already own most of the colors in this palette, therefore it wouldn’t make any sense for me to buy it. If you’re looking for a completely bold palette, maybe check out the NYX Ultimate Brights Palette or the Neve Cosmetics Intensissimi Palette.


Kat Von D Shade and Light Glimmer Palette (I assume it’s going to be $48)

I feel like a lot of people featured this in their Anti-Hauls, because it’s an all shimmer palette. Now that’s not really a negative thing in my opinion, but I’m not impressed with the color selection. The colors are just too similar, I don’t need four brown shades and two similar light shades. There’s also nothing special about these shades, if you own a couple of neutral eyeshadow palettes, you’ll already have all of these colors.


Kylie Cosmetics – Take Me On Vacation Palette ($52)

MORE Pictures **swipe to the left ☀️💗@kyliecosmetics The #VacationEdition #Summer2017 #Collection 💛☀️ includes: 1. #SkinnyDip – Face Duo Bronzer & Highlighter 2. The #WetSet Palette – 4 Glowing Pressed Powders 3. 2 Send Me More Nude Lip Set -Matte Liquid Lipstick Set & Velvet Liquid Lipstick Set In Shades: Nude / Brithday Suit / Commando / Bare 4. 2 Super #Glitter #Gloss in Glitz / Glamour 5. Take Me On Vacation – #EyeshadowPalette NEW FORMULA 6. #LipKit – #JuneBug Matte #LiquidLipstick + #LipLiner 7. 3 Ultra Glow – Loose #Highlighters Tahiti / Santorini/ Fiji #ByeByeMoney 💸💸 Will be available ➡️ JUNE 15TH @ 3pm PST What's on your list? ✌🏼 #Trendmood #kyliecosmetics #kyliejenner THANK U for this gorgeous update: @fashionandmakeupksa @dailydosebeauty 😘 #makeupoftheday #motd #makeupoftheday #mua #ilovemakeup #makeup #makeupaddict #makeuplover #makeupblogger #makeuponpoint #onpoint #makeuplook

A post shared by TRENDMOOD (@trendmood1) on

Looks like a fun summery palette, right? You should totally buy this, because there’s nothing like this in your collection, right? Well, not really.
The palette design is actually quite clever, I feel like you’re seeing the three pops of color in the first row and won’t really notice how boring and neutral the rest of the palette is. I’m not saying the this is a bad palette per se, but except for these three colors, there’s just nothing special about it, if you own any neutral eyeshadow palette you already own these shades. Of course these three shades are fun, different and actually go well together, so if this palette is appealing to you because of that, why not buy shades like this individually and use it with the neutral eyeshadow palettes you already own? I also saw some swatches of this palette, and the pigmentation on these three colors in particular is mediocre at best.

If your interested in these three colors, here are some similar ones, that might even be more pigmented than the Kylie Cosmetics ones:

matte muted yellow: I didn’t find any spot on shades, but Tiki by Colourpop can give you a similar vibe
matte peach: Suburbia by Sugarpill looks pretty similar
shimmery turquoise: Makeup Geek Pegasus or Colourpop Tiny Tangerines


I hope you enjoyed this Anti-Haul. What do you think of the products I’ve mentioned? Are you buying any of these?

 

2 thoughts on “Anti-Haul #2 – New or Up-Coming Eyeshadow Palettes

Leave a Reply

