Drugstore Peel off Basecoat?

So, I’m obsessed with Cristine‘s videos and they really made me want to start wearing nail polish again. However, I’m too lazy to remove my nail polish, so I’d have specks of remaining nail polish on my nails, until everything wore off. Through Cristine I discovered what a peel off basecoat is. In case you’ve never heard of it, this kind of basecoat allows you to completely peel off everything you put on top, so you can remove your nail polish easily without using any nail polish remover. Cristine actually did a whole video on peel off basecoats, unfortunately none of the ones, that performed well, are cruelty-free (to my knowledge).

So I searched the internet for cruelty-free peel off basecoats & found nothing. However my friends got me some nail stuff for my birthday, including a peel-off basecoat that happens to be cruelty-free.


20170714_064517

The product I’m talking about is the Rival de Loop Young 2in1 Peel Off Base & Colour Stop. Your supposed to be able to use this a peel-off basecoat and on top of your skin to protect it from messy nailart. I have only tried it as a basecoat.


Application: This basecoat didn’t feel any different, than any regular basecoat I’ve tried before. The formula is thin and easy to apply evenly on the nail. Once I applied it to all of my nails, it seemed like it was already dry on the hand I painted first. I still waited a few minutes before putting on nail polish, just to make sure it’s completely dry. It dries down clear with a semi-matte.

Removal: Instead of a wooden stick, I just used my nails to lift up the nail polish, beginning at my cuticles (without any nail oil), which was super easy.
One coat: The nail polish didn’t come off in one piece, however it comes off in big pieces for the most part. Nail polish at the tip of the nail is the hardest to remove, it comes off in a lot of small pieces and involves a bit of scratching, but if you put on some nail oil (or face oil whatever) and let it sit on your nails for a while, the polish will come off a lot easier.
Two coats: The nail polish lifts up in one piece.

20170713_103644

Two coats (left) vs. one coat (right)

My nails felt very dry after removing the nail polish, more than they used to, when I used nail polish remover. However, I haven’t worn nail polish for some time, maybe that’s a normal reaction, if you start wearing nail polish again after a long time. Either way, I recommend using an oil after removing the nail polish.

This basecoat did not prevent staining.

20170713_105015


I hope this post was helpful. Have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “Drugstore Peel off Basecoat?

  1. femmerewritten says:

    That’s actually really cool! I’m a little worried about it coming off when I’m not ready yet though, so I might just stick with the regular stuff haha. Thanks for sharing! I just found your blog today and I’m definitely following to keep up with the rest of your content. Looking forward to your future posts! I would love it you could stop by HaiPanda.org sometime!
    Mena | femmerewritten.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • fangirlfashionista says:

      I don’t think it would come off super easily, as long as you don’t take super long baths or showers or do the dishes with this basecoat, it’ll probably stay on quite well. I like this a lot, because I can remove my nail polish completely once it starts chipping (or I get bored with the design).
      Also thank you for your kind words about my blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

